Limited time - use promo code: PROMO50 at checkout

The Loving Generation

The Loving Generation

4 Episodes

The Loving Generation tells the story of how a generation of Americans born to one black and one white parent experience race and identity in a divided United States.

The Loving Generation
  • Episode 1 – Checking Boxes

    Episode 1

    This episode explores the various ways that people from the Loving generation make sense of who they are. It begins with one of the main characters answering the question: What box do you check on a census form, and why?

  • Episode 2 – We Are Family

    Episode 2

    Families are complicated, especially when they cross racial lines. Members of the Loving generation talk about their familial relationships and how they deal with white parents and relatives who may not understand what it is to be black in America.

  • Episode 3 – Coming of Age

    Episode 3

    Evolving into one’s adult identity can be a complex process. In this episode, members of the Loving generation recount their early-to-mid-adulthoods and explain how they navigate their blackness, personally and professionally.

  • Episode 4 – The Obama Era

    Episode 4

    In the final episode of our series, interviewees explore what the election of the mixed-race Barack Obama meant to them, and the future of race relations in America.